Campus Equity Week Prepping Part IV: Addressing Challenge of Adjunct Apathy and Reluctance

by VanessaVaile

Forget Winter: October 2017 is coming and with it, #CEW2017. Whether just a handful of adjuncts, a full, active chapter or @AdjunctCrisis’ series will help you prepare. Watch this space for Part V coming soon.

The Adjunct Crisis

Good Adjuncts,

So you’ve decided to take action, or do a series of activities, or maybe you want to, but feel stymied.

Of the main challenges I have faced, and continue to do so, is dealing with the apathy or self-interest of my colleagues.  I know that some adjunct activists would want me to speak of fear first, and I’ll address this later, but I will tell you apathy and self-interest are far bigger challenges.

Some of you have heard the expression that organizing adjuncts is like herding cats, and to a large extent it’s true.  I constantly hear how adjuncts are busy teaching their heavy loads at multiple classes with family and personal obligations to boot. I would like all these busy adjuncts to know that everyone (including myself) is busy too, but anyway…

Keeping it positive here, a lot of adjunct apathy is driven by the sort of…

View original post 1,179 more words

