LazyWeb: Why Did Trust In Press Collapse in the mid-80s/early-90s?

by VanessaVaile

ICYMI #adjuncts understanding pushing #media and helping take out the digital trash matter: check out Hapgood blog and the Digital Polarization Project

Hapgood

I have a question I’d love others to answer for me.

So I was looking at longer term declines in trust in the press. And what I expected to see was a long steady fall-off from the peak trust of Watergate and if you look at some charts you see that.

trustchartTumblr

But when you look closer on those charts they really elide the 1980s,

If you get granular, and look at the 1980s, the charts look like this:

20561968_10100935173801327_1783419035_n

That’s a dramatic drop, which coincides with Clinton’s election, and maybe with the rise of AM radio news hosts? But man — that’s really steep.

rise

Again, you can peg the launch of Fox in here at the end (mid that elision at the end of the graph), but here there is even a significant uptick through 1985-88 (Iran-Contra?)

543-1

Here’s a different story. And again, I think about Iran-Contra for that late 1980s…

View original post 289 more words

