Higher Education is Pushing More Professors into Poverty

by VanessaVaile

Just added @RusulAlrubail’s blog, Heart of a Teacher to rss reader and Precarious Faculty blogroll. There are many posts here that I want to read.

Heart of a Teacher

The summer of 2014 I received a phone call that would forever alter my career as an English professor. The chair of my department called me to tell me that the college will be getting rid of contract faculty starting January 2015. Of course, I was a contract faculty there. My heart dropped. My mind raced.

“Why? Does that mean I won’t be teaching anymore?”

“Faculty will have an option of either going part time (6 hours a week) or sessional (over 15 hours).” My chair answered.

3903-and-506-picket-5 Seneca students helped distribute leaflets to their classmates as they waited for the bus.

“Okay” I stammered, “that’s not so bad, perhaps I can make it work”.

“I am glad you’re looking at it from a positive light, if you have any questions, I’ll be in my office this week”.

View original post 452 more words

