We Are Not Contingent! An Adjunct Manifesto.

by VanessaVaile

ICYMI from the “vintage adjunction” collection. Lydia Fields Snow dba @mmstrikesback might want to look at this for her “adjunct bill of rights” Twitter crowdsourcing project

John A Casey Jr

In my last post I promised readers of my blog that I would move beyond the problems in Higher Education to focus on a list of solutions that pertain to non-tenure track faculty.  This is an issue I have been discussing for some time with my colleagues at both Columbia College and UIC.  What follows is a list of proposed workplace changes composed by Brianne Bolin and myself as part of an Adjunct Manifesto.  This list is simply a piece of the larger work.  To read the full text of the manifesto, go to this site:  http://adjunctmanifesto.tumblr.com/

WE, AS NON-TENURED FACULTY, CALL FOR REFORM FROM WITHIN THE CURRENT SYSTEM. WE DEMAND THAT OUR ADMINISTRATORS ADOPT THESE CHANGES:

  • All hiring and firing of adjunct faculty will be handled by a non-partisan committee composed of tenured and non-tenured faculty in the same discipline, a union representative (if applicable), and a human resources staff…

View original post 391 more words

