And then everything turned to beige… The quantified academic in an age of academic precarity

by VanessaVaile

Thank you Paul Prinsloo @14prinsp

opendistanceteachingandlearning

Wonderland_Walker_5[It almost feels obscene not to reflect on the events in #Beirut #Paris #Yemen (the list is endless). I am, however, permanently nauseous, speechless and saturated with claims and counter-claims and the increasing evidence that the events of the last few days, weeks, months and years are becoming the new normal. So forgive me if I don’t share my reflections at this stage. I.Just.Can’t.]

It is that time of the year again where I must report back on not necessarily what I have done or the quality of what I have done, but how much I have done… How many articles? How many chapters? How many single-authored or co-authored articles? How much money did I earn in the form of external research grants? How much am I worth? How many citations? How much did my h-index increase since I last looked and reported on? How many? How much?

My value…

View original post 2,110 more words

