Director’s Corner (NEMLA Blog Post #4)

by VanessaVaile

a sober, balanced look at a medium many adjuncts use ~ relevant to teaching, social media, conferences, activism (most recently Campus Equity Week)

John A Casey Jr

Greetings from Chicago!  It’s starting to look and feel like winter a lot more with each passing day.  Colorful hats and scarves are coming out of storage and adding to the beautiful colors of the fall foliage on campus.  Here’s a picture I took this weekend of the signs of fall slowly turning to winter at UIC.  Hopefully you’ve had a least a few sunny days wherever you are.

IMG_0123

In my last blog post I began to discuss issues related to teaching with technology in the field of American Literature.  This month I’d like to move from blogs, a fairly well-established medium at this point, to the newer and more contested form of micro-blogging that is best exemplified by Twitter.

What can you do in 140 characters or less?  This was the question I set out to answer in August of 2011 when I signed up for Twitter.  Here is…

View original post 1,226 more words

