DERRICK’S STORY

by VanessaVaile

a cautionary tale about the wrong way to use edtech ~ not just for K-12 either

DCGEducator: Doing The Right Thing

http://www.edcircuit.com/derricks-story/Aaron-Tech-Image-1-1

The other night I had dinner with a couple I’ve known for a long time. Let’s just say that one of these people is not named “Derrick,” but that’s the name I will use. It will be easy to understand why as I tell this story. The facts are correct, but I will not identify him nor identify the school so that I don’t put Derrick in a bad spot.

Derrick is a retired high school teacher who was recently hired as a substitute in an upper-middle class suburban high school whose population is 80 percent white with less than ten percent of students considered to be economically disadvantaged. Approximately 70 percent of students take AP courses. Almost all meet ELA and math proficiency standards.

It is a town similar to several NYC suburban towns. The estimated median household income was about $90,000, which is $30,000 higher than the…

View original post 596 more words

