WE MUST TAKE BACK THE NARRATIVE LANGUAGE OF EDUCATION

by VanessaVaile

equally relevant to academic labor issues and teaching in higher education #EdBlogNet

DCGEducator: Doing The Right Thing

12c1d-405314_10150964217256875_1167865476_nCorporate Education Reformers and their ilk have usurped the positive language of education.

Positive public perception is key to successfully getting across our message. If we are against things people perceive of as positive then we lose.

We must regain control of the narrative. We must take back the message.

For example, let’s assess, not test.

“What is assessment? That depends on whom you ask. When I was a kid in school, we were never assessed. We were tested. We took in-class tests, IQ tests, and entrance tests to specialized high schools, and, of course, those other standardized tests: the New York State Regents and SATs. I taught for over twenty years before I was introduced to the term “assessment,” when I first heard Grant Wiggins speak about “Authentic Assessment.” “Holy Cow,” I exclaimed, “I didn’t know I had been doing that for so many years.”

“Ever since I…

View original post 1,785 more words

