Open Letter to Senator Lamar Alexander

by VanessaVaile

what would you write Sen Alexander about NCLB, education reauthorization acts on the table and the future of public education in general?

MeReader

Senator Lamar Alexander has solicited opinions and ideas about rewriting No Child Left Behind.  If you want to send your own letter, here is information about how to do it. This is what I sent him.

Dear Senator Alexander,

I am one of your constituents. I’ve been teaching in Metro Nashville Public Schools for five and a half years. Currently I teach English and Spanish at The Academy at Old Cockrill, an alternative high school for students ages 17-21. Typically, students transfer to our school when they find out they aren’t going to graduate on time, or they come to us from another alternative school for younger students who are “overage and undercredited.” Because of my position in this unique school, I hear a lot from my students about the other schools in the district.

Senator Alexander, please read Diane Ravitch’s book Reign of Error: The Hoax of the Privatization…

View original post 1,438 more words

