Young People of the Movement

by VanessaVaile

Adjuncts, are we this brave? It’s been time for us to learn from those even more marginalized and at risk than we are ~ these youths, the Dreamers, low the wage workers

La Loba Letters

Eight days ago an unarmed teenager, 18-year-old Mike Brown was shot multiple times by a Ferguson police officer. What has transpired in the past eight days has been at turns heartbreaking, exciting and exhausting. Protesters have taken to the streets by the thousands, not just in Ferguson but across the country. I have been on the front lines since day one. Weary of black kids being gunned down by vigilantes and police, something snapped in me. I was in this for the long haul. I had no idea that decision would revolutionize my life. On Saturday I was peacefully protesting on the sidewalk across the street from the Ferguson Police Department. On Sunday I went to the location where the bulk of protesters had gathered just blocks from the scene of the crime. It was one of the most terrifying moments of my life. Enraged youth facing off with 300…

View original post 1,611 more words

